طبيب الطب النبوي Dokter Pengobatan Nabawi

Islam, Hukum, Sholat, Tatacara

Like A Virgin: Cupped For The Very First Time

with 2 comments


Like A Virgin: Cupped For The Very First Time

final-bookhijamaThe Arabic word for cupping/bloodletting is Al-Hijamah (hee-jaa-mah). The Arabic root for it is al-hajm and means sucking. The one who performs hijamah is referred to as Al-Hajjam. The blood originates from a vessel called Al-Mihjam.

Blood is removed from the body by way of special cups that vary in size. Blood can become stagnated and contribute to the build up of toxins in the body. Once this bad blood is released, new blood can flow freely which in turn restores good health bi’idhnillah. Hijamah has many health benefits and has the ability to cure the following ailments: headaches, menstrual pain, arthritis, revitalizes skin, back pain, cold/flu, even depression. And the list goes on!

It is a fading sunnah that needs to be revived. Honestly, I had no idea what hijamah was until I came to Saudi Arabia. Last week, I had the opportunity to be cupped by a good friend for the first time. As another friend would say, “there’s a first time for everything!”

Before my friend began, I said bismillah and had no fear whatsoever. I was calm and a little bit excited to be trying something new. I also felt proud of doing something that the Prophet (peace be upon him) strongly recommended. I made du’a that Allah would cure me.

When my friend pricked the skin on my back with the razor, it actually tickled. The suctioning of the cups were uncomfortable and there was some burning when my friend applied alcohol but overall I felt fine. I don’t have a weak stomach when it comes to seeing blood and when I saw mine on the tissue, I was shocked! My blood was dark red and congealed.

I was cupped in nine places. There was a point when I think my iron got low because I felt nauseous and as if I would faint. My friend stopped and reminded me to recite the Shahada, Surah Al-Ikhlas, Surah An-Nas, Surah Al-Falaq, Ayat Al-Kursi, the last 2 ayat of surah Al-Baqarah. I started to feel better immediately and this confirmed the healing power of the above soorat and ayat alhamdulillah.

Umm Husammudin is a Muslimah whom I met on FaceBook. She is from the UK and practices hijamah. I told her about my first hijamah experience and would like to include some of our dialogue:

Umm Husamuddin: The nausea may have also been caused if you you hadn’t fasted prior to treatment. Did you have an empty stomach? Also, was the alcohol applied to the incisions to cleanse the area? I use alcohol swabs before the incisions, but afterwards I cleanse with blackseed oil, which is a natural disinfectant and it also promotes the healing of the skin. The fear is a very normal reaction, caused by the waswaas (whispering) of the shaytaan. The jinn HATE hijama and will try to make you feel nervous and anxious and deter you from having the treatment.

Tar a: No I didn’t but I wasn’t very full either. I wasn’t afraid alhamdulillah.

Umm Husamuddin: The dark congealed blood is the dead lifeless blood that is trapped in the tissues of the body, which causes many illnesses and diseases. It is the same as menstrual blood.Yes please make sure you have fasted for at least 2-3 hours prior to treatment inshaAllaah. Ibn Umar (may Allaah be pleased with him) reported that the Messenger (Sallallaahu Álayhi Wasallam) said, “Cupping (hijama) on an empty stomach* is best. In it is a cure and a blessing. It improves the intellect and the memory…” After the treatment, have some honey in water and then eat and drink as normal, but avoid the foods that take more energy to digest (meats, dairy), as your body will be rejuvenating itself. The black seed oil is very soothing mashaAllaah. If you still have soreness the following day, you can apply a paste of honey and blackseed oil to promote better healing. And these are remedies from the Sunnah, alhamdulillah.

Tara: Why are jinn afraid of hijamah?

Umm Husamuddin: Jinn are weakened by 2 things, ruqyah and hijamah. Hijamah can be used for the treatment of sihr.

For those who are hesitant to get cupped, the benefits far outweigh any fear you may harbor. I’m feeling energetic and rejuvenated alhamdullilah masha’Allah. I can’t wait until I get cupped again insha’Allah!

Please read these excellent reminders regarding hijamah:

Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) said, “I did not pass by any group on the night of Al Isra, unless they said to me, ‘O Muhammad, tell your Ummah to do Hijama.” (Reference: Ibn Majah, 3477)

The Prophet (peace be upon him) explained that Hijama is one of the best medicines: “The best medicine with which you treat yourselves is Hijama, or it is one of the best of your medicines,” or “The best treatment you can use is Hijama.” (Reference: Al Bukhari, 5371)

Muhammad (peace be upon him) said: “Hijama is the most helpful procedure for human beings to cure themselves.” (Reference: Al Bukhari, 5357)

The Prophet (peace be upon him) also said: “If there is anything good in the medicines with which you treat yourselves, it is in the incision of the Hijama therapist, or a drink of honey or cauterization with fire, but I do not like to be cauterized.” (Reference: Muslim, 2205)

The Prophet (peace be upon him) said: “The best treatment is Hijama; it removes blood, lightens the back and sharpens the eyesight.” (Reference: At Tirmidhi, 3053)

Anas narrated that the Prophet (peace be upon him) used to have Hijama done on the veins on the side of the neck and the upper back. (Reference: At Tirmidhi)

Jaabir ibn Abdullah narrated that Umm Salama asked permission from the Prophet (peace be upon him) to do Hijama. So the Prophet (peace be upon him)ordered Abu Teeba to do Hijama for her. Jaabir ibn Abdullah said, “I think he (peace be upon him) said that Abu Teeba is her brother through breastfeeding or a young boy who hadn’t yet reached puberty. (Reference: Saheeh Muslim, 5708)

Ibn Umar reported that the Messenger of Allah (peace be upon him) said, “Hijama on an empty stomach is best. It increases the intellect and improves the memory. It improves the memory of the one memorizing. So whoever, is going to have Hijama done should do it on a Thursday in the name of Allah the Almighty. Keep away from having Hijama done on a Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Have Hijama done on a Monday or Tuesday. Do not have Hijama done on a Wednesday because it is the day that Ayyub [Job](peace be upon him) was befallen with the trial. You will not find leprosy except by having Hijama on Wednesday or Wednesday night.” (Reference: Saheeh Sunan ibn Maajah, 3488).

SUMBER :  http://islamicarticles.wordpress.com/2009/04/11/like-a-virgin-cupped-for-the-very-first-time/

Written by أبو هـنـاء ألفردان |dr.Abu Hana

April 29, 2009 at 05:32

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Abu Hana reposted my article on his blog, Dokter Pengobatan Nabawi […]

  2. Asalamu Alaikum,

    JazakAllahu khair for reposting my article here!

    Tara Umm Omar

    @ Wa’alaikumussalaam warohmatullaahi wabarokatuh
    Thanks for visiting my blog..
    nice articel, verry beneficial.

    Baarokallaahu fiikum.

    islamicarticles

    April 29, 2009 at 15:29


Bagaimana menurut Anda?